About Rally

Silk Way Rally is one of the most large-scale competition in the world of cross-country rallies. The first edition took place in 2009 and connected Russia, Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan. At that time the rally was conducted at the initiative of the presidents of these three countries, who were also personally present on the award ceremony. The rally name “Silk Way” represents the Eurasian nature of the race and its meaning for the connection of all countries in the area of the ancient Silk Way. From 2010 to 2013 about one thousand racers on their cars and trucks represented 30 world countries on the rally.

In 2016, thanks to the support of rally general partner Gazprom, Silk Way Rally reached a new level: rally route for the first time in its history crossed Russia, Kazakhstan and China from Moscow to Beijing. Such decision was made to emphasize the active development of diplomatic, social and economic relations between Russia and China.

Since 2016, the rally has taken form of a transcontinental rally marathon, uniting the sportsmen from dozens of countries on the unique route along the ancient Silk Road.
In 2020 the SILK WAY RALLY, which will be held between 3 and 11 July 2020, becomes part of the FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Rallies.

Of note:

  • Becomes part of the 2020 FIA Cross-Country Rallies World Cup
  • Is part of the FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship for the second year running
  • Official date of the rally (FIA/FIM calendar): from 2 to 11 July 2020 / start podium 3 July
  • Administrative checks and scrutineering: 2 and 3 July 2020 - Moscow
  • 8 stages – approx. 4200 kilometres
  • Moscow–Kazan (Russia)

The start will be given in Moscow from the Red Square on 3 July 2020. After 8 days on Russian tracks, through steppes, forests and over hills, the finish will be in Kazan on 11 July, after approximately 4200 kilometers.
THE SILK WAY RALLY, an unmissable round of the FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship and the FIA Cross-Country Rallies World Cup. 

Coveted by the big teams and the most decorated champions in the discipline, but also by many amateurs, the SILK WAY RALLY has been won by some impressive names: CARLOS SAINZ, CYRIL DESPRES , YAZEED AL RAJHI and NASSER AL ATTIYAH, who on the 2019 edition pulled off the unique feat of winning all 9 stages.

In the truck category it is the KAMAZ MASTER TEAM with DMITRY SOTNIKOV, EDUARD NIKOLAEV, AYRAT MARDEEV, ANTON SHIBALOV, ANDREY KARGINOV and FIRDAUS KABIROV who’ve shared the victories since 2009, supremacy thwarted in 2011 by TATRA TEAM and his pilot ALES LOPRAIS.

In 2019 SAM SUNDERLAND (KTM) was the first bike rider to win the category on the SILK WAY RALLY, winning at the same time the second round of the FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship.